## Annex 6: Definition of European (Partner country Scholarships) and Third Country (Programme country Scholarships) students

The terms "Partner country Scholarships" and "Programme country Scholarships", "Third Country student" ("non-European student") and "European student" are defined and published by the European Commission / EACEA (e.g., in the Erasmus + Programme Guide 2014-2019) and may be subject to change.

Erasmus Mundus Partner country Scholarships (for third-country students)

Partner country scholarships can be awarded to students from all countries other than the 27 EU member states and EEA/EFTA states: Turkey, FYROM, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway.

Furthermore, the candidate must comply with the 12 months rule: he/she is not a resident nor have carried out his/her main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in these countries. The five-year reference period for this rule is calculated backwards as from the application submission deadline.

Erasmus Mundus Programme country Scholarships (for European students)

Programme country scholarships can be awarded to any student who do not fulfil the criteria for a Partner country scholarship.